Author Spotlights, Daily Posts, FYI

A Beacon in the…well whenever!

For nearly a decade I have had the pleasure of knowing and working with Pamela Ripling aka Anne Carter. I may wax on a bit about her, but in all honestly, she is one of the neatest people I know. We ended up friends after meeting at a romance convention and I have never been sorry a day since. Our acquaintance eventually developed into a professional relationship when Echelon Press began publishing Pam’s short stories. We then took on Pam’s larger works. Since then we have published numerous stories by her, as well as three novels, Point Surrender, Cape Secuction, and her young reader novel Locker Shock!

Today is the final stop on Pam’s Blog Tour and I thought we would do something a little different. I am going to post a series of questions here for Pam, and I am going to entice her to hop on in here and answer them. I assure you she has not seen these questions, so her answers will have to be honest and off the cuff. So, here we go.

  1. We know that you love lighthouses and are becomming quite an expert on them, with all your travels and adventures to the lighthouses you write about. I would like for you to give us a snippett of one of your personal fantasies regarding any lighthouse. Nothing wild and outrageous, but I now you well enough to know there is something you would love to do.
  2. What is the one story that has stuck in your mind forever that you would love to write, but just haven’t been able to pull it all together to get it on paper. or screen?
  3. I have places in my mind that are very special to me, kind of inspirational places. If you could run away for a month, 30 days, where would you go, what would you do, and why there?
  4. What have been your best and worst experiences since becoming a published author?

Okay, that is all I wanna know for now, but perhaps if anyone else has any questions they will pop in and ask you here.

**For those of you who are not aware, Pam has written two novels in her Beacon Street series. Point Surrender and Cape Seduction are both set at beautiful lighthouses. I whink everyone should read them. I promise you won’t be disapointed. And since you took the time to read this post, I would like to give you a special treat.

If you order directly from Echelon Press, you will get both books for the special price of $20.00 and this includes shipping. That is a great savings of at least $8.00! Send your order and PayPal payment to pay.echelon@gmail.com and we will mail you your set!

You can also get Pam’s books at Kindle, Amazon.com, and OmniLit.

Point Surrender:

Amy Winslow isn’t looking for a mystery; she doesn’t even like secrets. In fact, secrets have nearly destroyed her life. So, when a terrible accident forces her to take control of her brother’s mysterious California lighthouse, Amy finds herself immersed in its shocking past and uncertain future. Enchanted by the mystery, she refuses to rest until she finds out who died in the aging white beacon, and why.

Case McKenna hasn’t quite reconciled his own painful history when he sails his crippled boat into Newburg Harbor, intending to stay only long enough to make repairs. His plans change when he becomes entangled with a local couple intent on restoring a long-shuttered lighthouse. Despite an overwhelming urge to flee, Case follows intrigue and passion, as he, too, finds himself drawn in by Point Surrender…

Cape Seduction:

After being the backdrop for 1948’s critically acclaimed tragic romance, Cape Seduction, Northern California’s Dragon Rock Lighthouse sat shuttered and abandoned for decades-and it also happened to be the last place up-and-coming Hollywood starlet Darla Foster was seen alive. When photojournalist Rebecca Burke locks horns with Los Angeles attorney Matt Farralone while trying to gain access to the derelict off-shore beacon, she encounters the spirit of the sassy, once-promising Oscar-hopeful Foster, and uncovers a 60-year-old secret that sets her world on end.

15 thoughts on “A Beacon in the…well whenever!

  1. K: I would like for you to give us a snippett of one of your personal fantasies regarding any lighthouse.

    P: You also know that I’ve lately become more interested in history. My fantasy would be to actual live in one of the classic, house-style lighthouses, but back when they were really worked by the keepers. Not forever, mind you– too difficult!

    One favorite is a little beacon called Battery Point Lighthouse in Crescent City, California, coincidentally the town that figures prominently in CAPE SEDUCTION. Battery Point is a treasure. But can you imagine looking out at the sea from the tower, in 1964, at the oncoming tsunami? I would LOVED to have been there (but only with the confidence that the lighthouse would survive, LOL.)

    Danger is stimulating and romantic–which is why it figures so strongly in romantic suspense!

  2. K: What is the one story that has stuck in your mind forever that you would love to write, but just haven’t been able to pull it all together to get it on paper. or screen?

    P: Like most writers, I have a couple of semi-completed manuscripts stuffed in the recesses of my hard drive. I can’t honestly say there’s one waiting to be written, but I am working on one that I’ve been toying with for some time. This story is a major departure from my norm and may warrant another pen name, LOL. But seriously, one of the two main characters is a young, gay man, and his homosexuality isn’t just a character trait. I think it’s a valid story, but I have reservations about finding the right audience.

    What’s interesting is that being an author who has believed in electronic publishing since it was born, I shouldn’t have any concerns about marketing the odd story or off-the-wall storyline. That’s the beauty of digital publishing; risk-taking is encouraged.

  3. K: I have places in my mind that are very special to me, kind of inspirational places. If you could run away for a month, 30 days, where would you go, what would you do, and why there?

    P: Have you ever seen the movie “Under the Tuscan Sun” with Diane Lane? The scene where she has just abandoned her life and is touring Europe on a bus and she sees this little mini-villa out the window. She pulls the cord, grabs her bag and gets off–just like that. This scene has stuck with me since I saw it. For those who haven’t seen it, she buys the villa on the spot and moves in and renovates it. She doesn’t know a soul, but makes friends with the local constable and neighbors. She evaluates her life.

    Now, I have never been to Tuscany or even Italy. It’s not so much the locale as it is that feeling of breaking away and standing on your own, and healing from what life’s hurled at you. Another such spot I’d head for is Loch Lomond, Scotland (as in “the bonny, bonny banks of…”) Such tranquility. For writers, settings just stand out, don’t they?

  4. K: What have been your best and worst experiences since becoming a published author?

    P: There are many! Well, of course you can’t have more than one with a definitive like “best” or “worst”.

    One really low point was when I was first published, over ten years ago. I’d found an ebook publisher, and he seemed nice enough and he loved my book. It needed no editing, it was so good. Can you imagine? I blush now at my own naivete. Anyway, ebooks were just beginning to get a little notice on the internet, and some brave soul put up a “bestseller” list that she tried hard to made useful and valid by gathering stats from all the publishers. And one day, my book appeared on that list. Can you imagine my joy? Long story short, after some unintentional digging, I discovered my “publisher” (loosely used) had “bought” 100 copies of my book from himself, using a different name. I was mortified. I’d told many people about this best-seller-status. After I’d recovered from the shock, I canceled my contract with the guy.

    Some high points:

    Finding out that romance cover model John DeSalvo was reading STARCROSSED HEARTS as a possible screenplay candidate. John was moving into movie production, and my then editor was an acquaintance. Of course he didn’t select it, but I was on top of the world just knowing he read it! (Am I easily impressed, or what?? LOL.)

    When A HERO’S PROMISE garnered 4-1/2 stars from Romantic Times Book Reviews. That doesn’t happen every day! And…

    The day I was first handed a copy of POINT SURRENDER was a major high point. Beautiful cover, high quality printing and binding, wonderfully set… I will never forget running my fingers lightly over the glossy cover. I still feel it when I look at my books.

  5. Little known stupid facts about me that even Karen doesn’t know. Until now.

    I am deathly afraid of horses.
    I once went up in a hot air balloon and it crashed.
    I also crashed a snowmobile into a tree in Steamboat Springs.

    I’m notoriously clumsy and once tripped over a crosswalk line. I fell into a hole in my own backyard just after I assured my husband I wouldn’t. I did.
    I also fell into a snow-covered river. Me, who hates cold more than about anything.

    I raised boa constrictors while in high school.

    My favorite Disney movie is The Little Mermaid.
    Favorite Pixar is Monsters, Inc.

    I am a sophomore in college. My classmates are younger than my own kids. They hate me. The students, not my kids.

    I’m obsessive. When I like a song, I play it ad nauseum. Okay, that’s the wrong word but it sounds smart. Same about other stuff- I.e, I’ve seen the Phantom of the Opera three times on stage and (oh, maybe it’s ad infinitum?) the film lotsa lotsa times. Lotsa=easy than Latin.)

    1. Okay, I have to respond to this one. I hate horses too. I fall off of them when I try to ride. They don’t like me either, if I don’t fall on my own, they throw me off.

      And I love, just love The Phantom of the Opera. I only saw it live once, but the movie? I couldn’t begin to count. And the CD is always on in my car. I am a huge fan of Gerry Butler, and he has an amazing voice.

      I hate snakes, though. That’s probably why we didn’t hang out much in HS. ;o)

      Lighthouses have always seemed mysterious to me. I think that’s why I like them and love to explore them. The few I’ve been in always seemed to have that spooky feel, which is why I loved Point Surrender and Cape Seduction so much.

      Snake or no snake, Pam, I am a fan.

      1. Did you mention Gerry Butler? OMG! Me too! Did you just bawl over P.S. I Love You????

        Yeah, the reptile thing was a temporary fad due to my then-boyfriend Jon. I got over them.

        Thanks for loving my books. Never, NEVER get tired of hearing that!!!

        -P

      1. On my bucket list, to visit the lighthouses of Florida. I actually had a guest blogger on my Legendary Lighthouses blog who posted info and photos. Yesterday, I returned the favor and posted Washington State lighthouses at her blog.

        St. Augustine is the subject of a lot of interest to writers because it’s notoriously haunted. One day I’ll get to FL and check them all out!

      2. I love St. Augustine. I have family in Jacksonville so it is not that far away. We went there a couple years ago, the whole family–what a hoot!–and it is absolutely cool.

        When you decide to head over there, I’ll go with you. 🙂

        K

    1. Thanks, Marian! Funny you say that, because my niece and I were just discussing that term, “voice”. I’ve heard so many newer authors ask how one acquires it. One of the reasons we all need to read a lot, because we pick up minuscule traits that combine to make our own voice… or something like that. Who knows?

  6. May I have a drum roll please? Contest time! Jeepers, I had a lot of entrants. Have written all the names down on tiny fortune-cookie-sized papers and folded them up. Have dropped them into the beautiful ceramic bowl my son made in high school. Have stirred them. Have woken my teenaged daughter from her after-school nap and made her dip her fingers into the bowl. Draw one please?

    But wait! No, I’m thinking I’m feeling very generous today. Pick THREE. Yes, dear, pull out three and then go back to bed.

    WINNER #3 – DEIDRE DURANCE

    WINNER #2 – CAITE MAIRE

    and (drum roll quickens, ascends, ceases!)

    WINNER #1 – SUSAN GRISCOM! Susan, you’ve won your choice of a $25 giftie card from everybody’s favorite big box book bin, Barnes & Noble… or 5 ebooks of your choice from Echelon Press!!

    Deidre and Caite each win a copy of one of my books!

    Well done, bloggers!!

    And thanks ever so much to Karen for hosting me today! In the words of our immortal governator, “I’ll be back!”

Leave a Reply

